Three generations in a cup

Standard

As I sip from the same cup that my grandmother once did, I sense something I cannot explain.  How this cup and saucer, simple in their design, can join three generations of women together.  I drink from it, as my mum has, and her mother before her; a biscuit on the side, a smile and sparkle in her eyes.  This cup and saucer is our tale.  They hold the stories, dreams and tears of our lives.  A constant among all the change.  Here before and after we have gone.

Image

My grandmother’s tea set

©VCUzzell2014

2 thoughts on “Three generations in a cup

Leave a Reply

