All work and no creativity makes …

Standard

I have zero inspiration today.  It’s quite humid; the thunder of last night doesn’t seem to have quite cleared the air.  Even the seagulls seem to have been quietened by the heat, and there’s very little sound within the building other than distant shifting around and the murmur of conversation.  I’m looking out onto a green landscape of trees and grass, which the sun has just started to shine across, creating long afternoon shadows.  This is the first weekend in a while when I haven’t had any work to do, and I have felt a little lost, at times.  There’s still plenty to do though, and I have happily ticked off various things from my ever expanding ‘to do’ list.  Yet, I have to admit, writing wasn’t on that plan of activities for the day.  I’ve severely neglected it over recent months as a new job has taken over my thoughts, and life.  I have often wondered if certain types of work have a greater or lesser effect on creativity.  For example, when I worked as a bookseller I wrote frequently, yet did not necessarily read more than I do now, which is every day.  Having been a teacher for ten years I know my creativity has suffered because I put a lot of that into my lessons, and my head feels so full of work that I find it hard to create the mental space for my creative side to come through.  It’s not so much a work-life balance as a work-create balance that I need.  Hence the title of this piece; all work and no creativity makes me a frustrated writer and artist.

So, how about you?  Does the day job get in the way of your creative projects?  And if so, what do you do to give your artist a chance to breathe?

Leave a Reply

