In praise of solitude

Standard

When was the last time you had a whole day to yourself?  An entire 24 hours in which you could do just what you wanted and indulge your mood on that day.  For many years I worked part-time, but when I went full-time at the beginning of this year, I found myself starting to crave solitude.  I like being alone.  That doesn’t mean I don’t like being around people.  I’m teacher, so that’s part of the job.  However, I’d describe myself as a sociable introvert, and by that I mean I’m happy to spend time with others, but only so much.  There comes a point at which I feel the need to retreat and recharge my batteries once again.  Now, while I actively seek out time to myself, the thought of that would cause anxiety for many others.  Our lives are so full nowadays of stuff to do, work and family commitments and the constant intrusion into our lives from the media and technology, that it’s hard to find time to ourselves.  Also, many people hate the thought of spending time alone, saying they would be bored or lonely.  Yet, taking even just a few hours to do so is really beneficial, allowing us time to reflect and work on ourselves.

 

Being solitary is being alone well: being alone luxuriously immersed in doings of your own choice, aware of the fullness of your won presence rather than of the absence of others. Because solitude is an achievement.’  Alice Koller

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

