Writing ideas – catching fragments

Standard

Tea-shells

I’m trying to write more often but struggle to find the time and inspiration. Therefore, I have decided to make the middle of the week ‘writing Wednesdays’ to ensure I have time set aside. Now I just need inspiration. Going through some old documents on my laptop this evening I found ‘beach fragments’, which I originally created a couple of years ago.

I can’t remember where I got the idea from, but one sunny afternoon in late March, I went down to the beach and sat on the edge of the prom and wrote down the snatches of conversation I heard as people walked, jogged and cycled past me.

It’s a good way to get some inspiration when you’re having trouble finding it. I frequently wish I had a pen and notepad with me when I walk through town past busy shoppers, deep in conversation; arguing, laughing, flirting and discussing all manner of topics as they hurry or amble from one purchase to the next.

I’m going to set myself the task of sitting in a café and walking around town for an hour this weekend so I can listen out for some more fragments to create something with. It won’t be a poem because I can’t write them, but a random collection of statements and questions which may read something like the one below.

Beach fragments, version 3, 30.09.15

Her answer machine says

Mum! My tooth’s come out

She ditched me

That’s just not fair

Five minutes. OK?

No throwing sand!

I was wondering how large it is

That’s lovely. That’s nice

My bra and a new pair of shoes for Archie

Bits of slobber

I’m still waking up

©VCUzzell2015

Fellow writers, have you tried this technique? I’d love to know if you have and what it led to. Or if you haven’t tried it before, have a go and let me know how you get on.

Leave a Reply

